Attention: You are using an outdated browser, device or you do not have the latest version of JavaScript downloaded and so this website may not work as expected. Please download the latest software or switch device to avoid further issues.

News > Community news > Jean-Paul Vincent awarded the 2024 Waddington Medal

Jean-Paul Vincent awarded the 2024 Waddington Medal

Crick group leader JP Vincent, has been honoured by the British Society for Developmental Biology (BSDB) for his outstanding research performance and services to the subject community.
24 Apr 2024
Written by David Bacon
Community news
Jean-Paul Vincent
Jean-Paul Vincent

The Waddington Medal 

The Waddington Medal is the only national award in developmental biology, and is presented annually at the BSDB Spring Meeting, where the recipient presents the Waddington Medal Lecture. 

JP's medal

The BSDB said of awarding Jean-Paul's medal

His fundamental discoveries have helped shape developmental biology as we know it, and his work has created new links between developmental biology and a number of other disciplines.

The award highlights JP's adaptation of various techniques to the needs of developmental biology, and his sharing of these techniques to embody the true spirit of collegiality in the community. 

He is also recognised by the BSDB for his contribution through the organisation of conferences, involvement in committees and scientific advisory boards and in his role as a mentor.

Congratulations to JP!

Similar stories

Congratulations to Ronnie Low and Martina Peritore from the DSB Repair Metabolism Laboratory, who have both been awarded Marie Skłodowska-Curie postdoctoral fellowships! More...

Marco Endrizzi has recently joined the Crick as group leader for the X-ray Microscopy and Tomography Laboratory. More...

KQ Labs graduates

KQ Labs, an accelerator programme for early-stage companies in data-driven health delivered by the Francis Crick Institu… More...

Marty Chalfie

Marty Chalfie is currently at the Crick on sabbatical from his position as a professor at Columbia University. If you mi… More...

Anne O’Garra elected to the National Academy of Sciences

The National Academy of Sciences in the US has elected Anne O’Garra, Principal Group Leader of the Immunoregulation and … More...

Have your say


Contact us

The Francis Crick Institute
1 Midland Road

This website is powered by