Attention: You are using an outdated browser, device or you do not have the latest version of JavaScript downloaded and so this website may not work as expected. Please download the latest software or switch device to avoid further issues.

News > Community news > Charlie Swanton awarded the 2024 Jeantet-Collen Prize for Translational Medicine

Charlie Swanton awarded the 2024 Jeantet-Collen Prize for Translational Medicine

Charlie has received the award for his discoveries in cancer genetics and evolution, leading to insights into how tumours evolve, spread, and develop resistance to drugs.
24 Jan 2024
Written by Anna Lakey
Community news



Louis-Jeantet Prizes

The Louis-Jeantet Foundation's Prizes are awarded to fully active researchers whose scientific efforts are focused on biomedical research in Europe. Sixteen winners of the Louis-Jeantet Foundation’s Prizes have subsequently been distinguished by the Nobel Prizes in physiology, medicine or chemistry.

While the awards recognise work that has been completed, they also aim to encourage the continuation of innovative research projects. 

Prize for Translational Medicine

When the research being recognised is close to practical applications for combatting illnesses affecting humankind, one of the Louis-Jeantet Prizes converts into a Jeantet-Collen Prize for Translational Medicine, as in Charlie's case.

He has been awarded for his work on order and chaos in cancer evolution and immune surveillance. The Jeantet-Louis Foundation said that Charlie "has changed the way the world understands cancer by careful and impactful demonstrations of cancer as an evolutionary process."

"I am delighted to have been awarded this prestigious prize. Cancer research is team science and this award reflects the incredible work of my lab members and many colleagues at the Crick, UCL and Manchester and contributors across the world, and most importantly long-term funding support from Cancer Research UK, the Crick and the Rosetrees Trust.” Charlie Swanton

Paul Nurse said: “Congratulations to Charlie for this much deserved recognition of his contribution to cancer research, through his insights into the complexities of tumour evolution. 
“Charlie’s research stretches from the clinic to the lab and back, working to turn discoveries into improvements in tests and treatments for patients.”

Charlie and his lab will recieve £452,437 for ongoing research.

Fellow awardee

Charlie's fellow awardee, winner of the 2024 Louis-Jeantet Prize for Medicine, is Dirk Görlich. He is being recognised for elucidating how the directionality of cargo transfer between the cytoplasm and nucleus is achieved and for his discovery of the selective FG phase that governs transport through nuclear pores.

In Crick company

Charlie joins a number of Crick scientists to have won a Louis-Jeantet Foundation Prize. Some other recipients include:

  • Paul Nurse – 1992 Louis-Jeantet Prize for Medicine
  • Robin Lovell Badge – 1995 Louis-Jeantet Prize for Medicine
  • Richard Treisman – 2002 Louis-Jeantet Prize for Medicine
  • Steve West – 2007 Louis-Jeantet Prize for Medicine
  • Peter Ratcliffe – 2009 Louis-Jeantet Prize for Medicine
  • John Diffley – 2016 Louis-Jeantet Prize for Medicine
  • Caetano Reis e Sousa – 2017 Louis-Jeantet Prize for Medicine

Congratulations to Charlie and his team!

Similar stories

Congratulations are in order for Julian Downward and his lab, who have been awarded $1m over three years from the Novartis Global Scholars Program (NGSP) to study drug resistance i… More...


The grant will support Charlie Swanton from the Cancer Evolution and Genome Instability Laboratory and Sherene Loi from … More...

Crick postdoc Catherine Hurd has been awarded a Wellcome Trust Early Career Award. She tells us about her research at th… More...

Pontus Skoglund, Group Leader of the Crick Ancient Genomics Laboratory, has been awarded a €2m Consolidator Grant from t… More...

Have your say


Contact us

The Francis Crick Institute
1 Midland Road

This website is powered by